On iPhone, you can add and delete photos and videos that you added to a shared album. You can also save photos and videos from a shared album to your photo library.
The people you share the album with are notified automatically when you add new photos. Everyone in the album can also react to content with emoji and comments that all participants can see.
Here’s how to contribute to a shared album on iPhone.
Add photos and videos to a shared album
- Open the Photos app on your iPhone.
- Tap Collections.
- Tap Shared Albums and tap an album.
- Tap the More button and then tap Add Photos.
- Select photos and videos and then tap the Done button.
Whenever you add new photos, the people you share the album with get notified automatically.
Note: Seeing Items Not Shared after adding content to the album usually means the organizer is short on iCloud storage. Ask them to make sure they have enough for new content.
Comment and react to shared album content
In a shared album, you can react to content with emoji and comments, and all participants can see them.
- Open the Photos app on your iPhone.
- Tap Collections.
- Tap Shared Albums and tap an album.
- Tap a photo or video and then tap the Reactions button to react with an emoji, or tap the Comment Lines button to enter a comment.
To delete a comment, touch and hold it, then tap Delete. You can only delete your own comments, unless you’re the album organizer, who can delete any comment.
View shared album activity
- Open the Photos app on your iPhone.
- Tap Collections.
- Tap Shared Albums and tap Activity.
- The latest contributions to your shared albums are shown here.
Tap the Updates button to see a detailed feed of all activity in your shared albums. Tap the Reactions button or the Comment Lines button below a contribution to leave a reaction or comment. Tap the More button to save content someone else contributed or to delete content that you contributed.
To view activity for a specific shared album, tap the album, then tap the Conversation button.
Filter shared album content
- Open the Photos app on your iPhone.
- Tap Collections.
- Tap Shared Albums and tap an album.
- Tap the Sort and Filter button, tap Media Types or Shared By, and tap a filter option.
To remove the filter, tap the Sort and Filter button, then tap Remove Filter.
Delete photos, videos, and comments from a shared album
In a shared album, organizers can delete any photos, videos, or comments, but participants can only delete content they personally added. Whatever’s deleted is removed from the shared album automatically, both on all your devices and on the devices of every participant.
- Open the Photos app on your iPhone.
- Tap Collections.
- Tap Shared Albums and tap an album.
- Do either of the following:
- Delete multiple items: Tap Select, tap the items to delete and tap the Delete button. Then tap Delete from All Devices.
- Delete a single item: Tap the photo or video, tap the Delete button, and then tap Delete from All Devices.
To delete a comment, touch and hold it, then tap Delete. You can only delete your own comments unless you’re the album organizer, who can delete any comment.
Save photos and videos from a shared album to your library
- Open the Photos app on your iPhone.
- Tap Collections.
- Tap Shared Albums and tap an album.
- Tap the More button. Then tap Save All Shared Items or Save Remaining Items.
To save a single photo or video, tap the image to open it, then tap the Save button.
