You can return your iPhone settings to their defaults without erasing your content.
With Reset All Settings, all settings, including network settings and the keyboard dictionary, are removed or reset to their defaults, and no data or media are deleted. Reset Network Settings removes all network settings and resets the device name of your iPhone to “iPhone.” Erase All Content and Settings isn’t the same thing, though, since all your content is removed.
If you want to save your settings, back up iPhone before resetting it. For example, if you’re trying to solve a problem but resetting iPhone doesn’t help, you might want to restore your previous settings from a backup.
- Start the Settings app on your iPhone.
- Tap General, tap Transfer or Reset iPhone, and then tap Reset.
WARNING: If you choose the Erase All Content and Settings option, all your content is removed.
- Choose an option:
- Reset All Settings: All settingsāincluding network settings, the keyboard dictionary, location settings, privacy settings, and Apple Pay cardsāare removed or reset to their defaults. No data or media are deleted.
- Reset Network Settings: All network settings are removed. In addition, the device name assigned in Settings > General > About is reset to iPhone, and manually trusted certificates (such as for websites) are changed to untrusted.
Cellular data roaming may also be turned off.
When you reset network settings, previously used networks and VPN settings that weren’t installed by a configuration profile or mobile device management (MDM) are removed. Wi-Fi is turned off and then back on, disconnecting you from any network you’re on. The Wi-Fi and Ask to Join Networks settings remain turned on.
To remove VPN settings installed by a configuration profile, go to Settings > General > VPN & Device Management, select the configuration profile, then tap Remove Profile. This also removes other settings and accounts provided by the profile.
To remove network settings installed by MDM, go to Settings > General > VPN & Device Management, select the management, then tap Remove Management. This also removes other settings and certificates provided by MDM.
- Delete All eSIMs: All eSIMs stored on your iPhone are deleted. You will need to set up a new eSIM or physical SIM card to connect to a cellular network.
- Reset Keyboard Dictionary: You add words to the keyboard dictionary by rejecting words iPhone suggests as you type. Resetting the keyboard dictionary erases only the words you’ve added.
- Reset Handwriting Style: Resets custom handwriting preferences to their defaults.
- Reset Home Screen Layout: Returns the built-in apps to their original layout on the Home Screen.
- Reset Location & Privacy: Resets the location services and privacy settings to their defaults.
