How to control app tracking permissions on iPhone

You can control app tracking permissions on iPhone, changing each app's permission to track you across other companies' apps and websites, or stop all requests.

By Kevin Shaw - Editor
1 Min Read

All apps are required to ask your permission before tracking you or your iPhone across websites or apps owned by other companies for advertising or to share your information with data brokers. After you grant or deny permission to an app, you can change permission later.

You can also stop all apps from requesting permission, so they can’t even ask. The list in Tracking settings shows every app that has requested permission to track you.

Review or change an app’s permission to track you

  1. Open Settings, tap Privacy & Security, and then tap Tracking.

    The list shows the apps that requested permission to track you. You can turn permission on or off for any app on the list.

  2. To stop all apps from asking permission to track you, turn off Allow Apps to Request to Track (at the top of the screen).

For more information about app tracking, tap “Learn more” near the top of the screen.

Editor
Follow:
Kevin Shaw is a seasoned tech journalist based in Los Angeles with a penchant for all things Apple. He started writing about Apple products in 2007 and it's been a love affair ever since. He has spent over a decade testing and writing about iPhones, iPads, Macs, and other Apple products. In his spare time, he likes nothing more than catching up with the latest news and sports podcasts on the beach.
Leave a Comment