How to clear your location history in Maps on iPhone

You can clear the significant locations Maps uses for predictive traffic routing on iPhone, on every device signed in to your Apple Account.

By Chris Smith - Senior Editor
0 Min Read

On iPhone, the Maps app uses information about your significant locations from Location Services to provide you with personalized services like predictive traffic routing. Your significant locations are end-to-end encrypted and can’t be read by Apple.

You can delete your significant locations at any time, for example, to reset predictive traffic routing and similar personalized services. It’s a clean sweep: the history is cleared on every device signed in to your Apple Account.

  1. Start the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap Privacy & Security and then tap Location Services.
  3. Tap System Services and tap Significant Locations & Routes.
  4. Tap Clear History.

Everywhere you’re signed in to the same Apple Account, this action clears all your significant locations.

TAGGED:
Senior Editor
Follow:
Chris Smith is a senior editor at GeeksChalk based in Canada. He likes to think of himself as a jack of all trades (and a master of at least a few), though he mainly focuses on iPhones and Macs. Often covering both at the same time. When not surrounded by various Apple devices while putting them through their paces, Chris can be found streaming the latest movies or series, gaming on his PS5, or getting fresh air on a hike in the beautiful wilderness of British Columbia.
Leave a Comment