Security Lockout on iPhone 18 Pro. How to Unlock it

Learn how to fix the problem if you see the Security Lockout screen or iPhone Unavailable message on your iPhone 18 Pro or iPhone 18 Pro Max.

By Tom Griffin - Executive Editor
3 Min Read

My niece’s iPhone 18 Pro got stuck in Security Lockout screen because she entered the wrong passcode too many times. An iPhone 18 Pro will enter security lockout mode for protection after the maximum number of consecutive passcode attempts are entered. This helps prevent someone from using trial and error to crack the passcode. The iPhone will display text saying, “iPhone Unavailable.” You won’t be able to use the iPhone 18 Pro in this state because you won’t be able to get past this screen.

When you see the Security Lockout screen or an iPhone Unavailable message on your iPhone 18 Pro or iPhone 18 Pro Max, you can reset your device with that device to regain access. We were able to easily unlock the iPhone 18 Pro using recovery mode. Recovery mode may be the only option for you if you forgot your iPhone 18 Pro passcode. In this article, I explain how we fixed Security Lockout on our iPhone 18 Pro. I also explain how you can address potential issues that may arise during the process.

What is Recovery Mode

Recovery mode is a diagnostic state. You will need a computer, either a PC with the Apple Devices app installed or a Mac, to start your device in recovery mode. You can use recovery mode to erase your iPhone.

If you forget your passcode, try Passcode Reset first. If you can’t use Passcode Reset, you can then reset your iPhone without a computer to regain access. Finally, if you can’t use Passcode Reset and can’t reset your iPhone on the device itself, you can reset it with a computer.

Recovery mode is available for iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max.

What you need for recovery mode:

  • A USB cable to connect your iPhone to your computer.
  • A Mac or PC. If you are using a Mac, ensure that it is up to date. If you have a PC, ensure that you have the latest version of the Apple Devices app installed.
  • An internet connection.
  • Time: Apple says to allow up to 60 minutes.

What recovery mode does and does not do:

  • Recovery mode will erase everything and update your iPhone to the latest iOS. All of your settings and data will be deleted. Everything will be restored to the factory defaults.
  • After recovery mode, you will need to set up your iPhone again. You can set it up as a new iPhone or restore it from a backup.
  • iCloud lock or Activation Lock will not be removed. When you set up the iPhone, you will need to enter the Apple Account and password you used to set up your device before.

How to put a locked out iPhone 18 Pro into recovery mode

Before you start, ensure that your computer and USB cable are nearby and ready.

Step 1: Turn off your iPhone. Ensure that the iPhone is not yet connected to your computer with your USB cable. Press and hold both the side button and the Volume down button until the power off slider appears. Drag the slider to power off your iPhone.

Step 2: Connect the cable to your Mac or Windows PC. Next, connect the cable to your iPhone and quickly hold the side button. Do not release it.

Step 3: Keep pressing the button until you see the recovery mode screen on the iPhone. It is an image of a computer and a cable. You may see an Apple logo. If you see the Apple logo, do not let go of the button until you see the recovery mode screen. The Apple logo may appear more than once. If your iPhone buttons don’t respond and you can’t get to the image of a computer and a cable, Apple says you might need service.

Restore your iPhone using recovery mode

Now, you can restore your iPhone. On your computer, locate your iPhone.

Mac

  • Open a Finder window and select your iPhone in the sidebar under Locations.
  • Allow the accessory to connect if necessary.
  • Select Restore when you have the option to Restore or Update.

Windows PC

  • Open Apple Devices and select your iPhone in the sidebar.
  • Select Trust [your device] if necessary, then select General.
  • Select Restore and follow the onscreen instructions.

A popup will appear saying, “There is a problem with the iPhone ‘iPhone’ that requires it to be updated or restored.”

Choose the Restore option. The next screen will ask you if you are sure. The screen will tell you that everything will be erased. Click Restore and Update.

Wait for the process to complete. Your iPhone will be restored and updated to the latest version of iOS.

Please note that the process may take more than 15 minutes. For me, the process took almost an hour. This depends on the speed of the internet connection and the size of the update. If the download takes more than 15 minutes and your device exits the recovery mode screen, let the download finish, then turn off your iPhone and start recovery mode again.

Your iPhone will show the Hello screen when it is ready, and you can begin setting it up again.

Executive Editor
Follow:
Tom Griffin is the editor-in-chief at GeeksChalk where he oversees all of site’s evergreen content to ensure it’s up to date with the latest information. Hailing from London in the UK, he has over seven years of experience in the tech journalism space and holds a degree in English Literature. In his spare time, Tom can found checking out the latest video games, immersing himself in his favorite sporting pastime of football, and petting every dog he comes across in the outside world.
Leave a Comment