Sometimes you may receive phone calls or text messages from contacts even after they are blocked on your iPhone 18 Pro. Obviously, this may create a serious problem for you. You blocked that number for a reason, and if you still continue to get phone or FaceTime calls, something is clearly not working. These blocked contacts will still be able to annoy you. In this article, I will explain what you can do to ensure that your blocked numbers are really blocked so that you do not get these unwanted calls or texts. When you still get calls and messages from blocked numbers, you may think that it is impossible to block numbers, but you can definitely block people on your iPhone 18 Pro.
Blocked numbers not working on iPhone 18 Pro?
Before following the steps below, ensure that your iPhone 18 Pro or iPhone 18 Pro Max is up to date. Go to Settings > General > Software Update to check if there is an iOS update.
Further, go to Settings > General > About and wait a few seconds (ensure that your device has an Internet connection over Wi-Fi or cellular). If you get a popup saying there is a carrier settings update, tap Update. If you see no popup, you can exit this setting.
After updating your iPhone, follow these steps:
- On your device, go to Settings > Apps > Phone and tap Blocked Contacts. Or, you can go to Settings > Apps > FaceTime, and under Call Filtering, tap Blocked Contacts.
- Locate the blocked number or contact name that can still call or text you. We will temporarily unblock this number (or name). If this is a number, tap the number and tap Create New Contact to create a contact for this blocked number by saving it on your device. If this was already a contact, go to the next step.
- Tap the Edit button located at the top-right corner of your screen. Tap the red Remove (-) button next to the number. Then tap the red Unblock button.
- Now restart your device. The easiest way is to go to Settings > General and scroll all the way down and tap Shut Down. Drag the Power Off slider. Wait for your device to turn off. Then, to turn on your device, press and hold the Side button until you see the Apple logo.
- Now go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Blocked Contacts.
- Tap Add Blocked Contact, then select the contact you just unblocked. Now you have blocked it again. This problem shouldn’t happen again. If it does, see the Other notes section below.
Other notes
- If you still receive voicemails from your blocked contacts, this is normal behavior. Blocked contacts will still be able to leave voicemails even after they are blocked. Apple says that when you block a phone number or contact, they can still leave a voicemail, but you won’t get a notification. Messages they send are not delivered, and they receive no notification that the call or message was blocked.
- There is also a single, central list of everyone you have blocked. Go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Blocked Contacts. You can add someone there with Add Blocked Contact. To unblock someone, select them in that list, scroll down, then tap Unblock Contact.
- Blocking is account-wide, not device-wide. Apple notes that if you block someone on one device, they are blocked on all Apple devices signed in to the same Apple Account.
- It is possible that you may be getting texts or calls not from the same number but from a number that looks very similar. Block this number too.
- The same person may still FaceTime you using their Apple Account email. Ensure that their Apple account email is blocked too.
- Some spammers may spoof the Caller ID. It is possible that they are not calling from a real number. If they are disguising their identity by falsifying the caller ID information, this is called caller ID spoofing. See Apple’s guide to blocking phone numbers, contacts, and emails.
- If nothing works, you should also contact your carrier. They can block numbers for you on the carrier level.
