How to manage information sharing with Safety Check on iPhone

You can use Safety Check on iPhone to review and stop sharing your location, shared content, and app permissions with people and apps.

By Kristina Terech - Staff Writer
1 Min Read

On iPhone, use Safety Check to periodically review and update information you share with people, apps, and devices.

From Safety Check, you can stop sharing your location with others in Find My, remove others’ access to shared content like Photos, Notes, and Calendar, reset system privacy permissions for apps, restrict Messages and FaceTime to the device in your hand, and more. It’s all in one place, in Privacy & Security settings. From there, you just follow the onscreen instructions.

  1. Open Settings, tap Privacy & Security, and then tap Safety Check.
  2. Tap Manage Sharing & Access, tap Continue, and then follow the onscreen instructions.

You might also be sharing information that Safety Check can’t review or change—for example, accounts and passwords, social media sharing, and information shared from another device.

Important: In an emergency, you can also use Safety Check to quickly reset access to your device and personal information. Go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Safety Check, tap Emergency Reset, tap Start Emergency Reset, then follow the onscreen instructions.

Staff Writer
Follow:
Kristina is a staff writer at GeeksChalk, and is interested in all things Apple. This includes its best products such as the iPad, iPhone, Mac, AirPods, and Apple Watch. When she's not tinkering with the latest Apple gear, you’ll find her watching movies, taking pictures and exploring the great outdoors.
Leave a Comment