How to add or remove a friend in Find My on iPhone

You can ask to see a friend's location in Find My on iPhone, and remove a friend from your People list when you no longer need to.

By Moses Johnson - Editor
1 Min Read

On iPhone, in the Find My app, after you share your location with a friend, you can ask to see their location on a map. Once they receive and accept your request, you can see their location. You can also remove a friend, and when you do, that person is removed from your People list.

Ask to see a friend’s location

  1. Start the Find My app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap People and then tap the name of the person whose location you want to see.

    If you don’t see a person in the list, make sure you’re sharing your location with them.

  3. Tap Ask To Follow Location.

You can see their location as soon as your friend receives and accepts your request.

Note: If your friend is in the People list but you can’t see their location on the map, ask them to check that they’re sharing their location. Location Services also needs to be turned on in Settings > Privacy & Security > Location Services > Find My.

Remove a friend

When you remove a friend, you’re also removed from their People list, and that person is removed from yours.

  1. Start the Find My app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap People, tap the name of the person you want to remove, and tap the More button.
  3. Tap Remove.
TAGGED:
Follow:
Moses Johnson is the Editorial Director of GeeksChalk.com, who has a keen eye for news, rumors, and all the unusual stuff around Apple products. Moses is commonly referred to online as The Professor, with decades of experience in tech under his belt.
Leave a Comment