How to sync your iCloud photos on Apple TV 4K

You can sync your iCloud photos on Apple TV 4K, choosing all of your photos or only Shared Albums, from the default profile.

By Dave Johnson - Senior Staff Writer
1 Min Read

The first time you use the Photos app on Apple TV 4K, you’re prompted to sync all of your iCloud photos, or only your Shared Albums. You can change which photos are shared at any time in Settings. With iCloud Photos, your full-resolution photos and videos are stored in iCloud, but only the default profile can sync their photos. You can’t edit photos and videos on Apple TV 4K, though changes you make on another device update automatically.

Here’s how to turn on iCloud Photos for your Apple TV 4K.

  1. Go to Settings on Apple TV 4K.
  2. Go to Profiles and Accounts > [default profile] and select Photos.
  3. Select iCloud Photos to turn it on or off.

    When you turn it on, you’re prompted to confirm on another Apple device.

    Note: Only the default profile on Apple TV 4K can sync their photos and view content in the Photos app. See Change the default profile on Apple TV 4K.

iCloud Photos keeps your full-resolution photos and videos in iCloud automatically. With iCloud Shared Photo Library, which needs separate setup on an iPhone, iPad, or Mac, you can share photos and videos with up to five other people. From any device using the same Apple Account, you can access iCloud Photos and Shared Photo Library.

Although you can’t edit photos and videos on Apple TV 4K, the Photos app on iPhone, iPad, or Mac can, and the changes update automatically on Apple TV 4K and your other devices.

Not all features and content are available in all countries or regions or on all Apple TV hardware models.

TAGGED:
Senior Staff Writer
Follow:
Dave Johnson is a staff writer for GeeksChalk based in New Jersey. He covers news, how-tos, and user guides for iPhone, iPad, Mac, and Apple Watch.
Leave a Comment