How to erase a device in Find My on iPad

You can erase a device in Find My on iPad, like a lost iPhone or Mac, keep Activation Lock on, and cancel an erase.

By Tom Griffin - Executive Editor
1 Min Read

Use the Find My app to erase an iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple Watch, or Mac. In order to remotely erase a device, you must turn on Find My [device] before it’s lost.

When you erase a device remotely, a confirmation email is sent to your Apple Account email address, and Activation Lock remains on to protect it. You can cancel an erase, too.

Here’s how to erase a device in Find My on iPad.

What happens when you erase a device in Find My?

  • A confirmation email is sent to your Apple Account email address.
  • When you erase a device remotely using Find My, Activation Lock remains on to protect it. Your Apple Account password is required to reactivate it.
  • If you erase a device that had iOS 15, iPadOS 15, or later installed, you can use Find My to locate or play a sound on the device. Otherwise, you won’t be able to locate or play a sound on it. You may still be able to locate your Mac or Apple Watch if it’s near a previously used Wi-Fi network.

Erase a device

  1. Open the Find My app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Devices at the bottom-left side of the screen, tap the name of the device you want to erase, and then tap the more button.
  3. Tap Erase and tap Continue.

    If the device is a Mac, enter a passcode to lock it (you need to use the passcode to unlock it).

  4. If the device is lost and you’re asked to enter a phone number or message, you may want to indicate that the device is lost or how to contact you. The number and message appear on the device’s Lock Screen.
  5. Tap Erase.
  6. Enter your Apple Account password, then tap Erase again.

If your device is offline, Erase Pending appears, and the remote erase starts the next time the device connects to a Wi-Fi or cellular network.

Cancel an erase

If you erase an offline device and find it before it comes online again, you can cancel the erase request.

  1. Open the Find My app on your iPad.
  2. Tap Devices at the bottom-left side of the screen and tap the name of the device whose erase you want to cancel. Tap the more button.
  3. Tap Cancel Erase, then enter your Apple Account password.

If you lose your iPad, you can erase it using Find Devices on iCloud.com.

See also

TAGGED:
Executive Editor
Follow:
Tom Griffin is the editor-in-chief at GeeksChalk where he oversees all of site’s evergreen content to ensure it’s up to date with the latest information. Hailing from London in the UK, he has over seven years of experience in the tech journalism space and holds a degree in English Literature. In his spare time, Tom can found checking out the latest video games, immersing himself in his favorite sporting pastime of football, and petting every dog he comes across in the outside world.
Leave a Comment