Yesterday, when I tried to call Stacey a few times from my iPhone 18 Pro, I could not reach her and kept running into a message saying User Busy. My calls were directly sent to her voicemail. Then I learned later that Stacey did not even know I called her. There are a few situations that may give a User Busy notification on iPhone 18 Pro. In this article, I explain why this may occur and what you can do to fix this problem.
User Busy notification on iPhone 18 Pro
This issue may occur for a few different reasons. In my experience, you may get this message when the other person is on another call. This can include other phone calls, FaceTime calls, WhatsApp calls or similar. Simply wait and try again later. If your call goes through the next time, then there are no issues. However, if you keep getting this screen, there may be another cause. You might not be able to make or receive calls on your iPhone if you have certain settings turned on, if your software isn’t up to date, or if there’s a problem with your network. Check the steps below on your iPhone, and ask the other person to check theirs.
How to fix User Busy error on iPhone 18 Pro
Some of these checks need your carrier. If you see this message and are unable to call someone, check these:
- You or your recipient may have been having carrier issues. Check these. All of these can be answered and addressed by contacting the carrier:
- Your account may not be set up to use your iPhone, or your calls may have errors on the carrier system.
- You or the recipient may have localized service outages.
- You or the other person may be in an area with poor reception. Go to another location and try again.
- You or the recipient may have account issues, such as unpaid bills or other issues blocking your account from making or receiving calls. Ask your carrier to make sure that your account doesn’t have a billing-related block.
- There may be issues with the condition of the SIM card if you or the recipient are using physical cards. Your carrier may replace them.
- There may be a carrier update. Check this and update if there is an update. To do this, on your iPhone, go to Settings > General > About. A popup will appear if there is an update.
- Ensure that your iPhone is up to date. Go to Settings > General > Software Update.
- If you are still having this issue, reset your network settings. This will erase all current saved settings, including Wi-Fi passwords, preferred networks, and VPN and APN settings that you’ve used before. Go to Settings > General > Transfer or Reset iPhone > Reset > Reset Network Settings.
Why your calls are sent to voicemail
The other person might not be able to receive your calls if they have certain settings turned on, or if there’s a problem with their network. For example:
- If the other person blocked you.
- If the other person enabled a Focus mode such as Do Not Disturb or Sleep.
- If the other personās phone is turned off or in Airplane Mode.
- If the other person is in an area with no cellular coverage.
- If the other person set unknown callers to Silence in Settings > Apps > Phone and your number is not saved in their contacts. Calls from unsaved numbers are then silenced, sent to voicemail, and appear in the Recents list.
- If the other person turned on Call Forwarding.
