Several iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max users have said that they are unable to unmute group conversations in Messages. More specifically, users have said that when they unmute a previously muted group conversation, the setting goes back to mute itself. The group conversations won’t stay unmuted.
You can mute and unmute notifications for a conversation. This will let you silence group conversations and individual conversations. When you mute group notifications, your device will still continue to receive the messages that are sent to the group. It is just that your device won’t buzz, display banner notifications, or vibrate when they are received.
Muting group conversations, instead of exiting a group message, can be a great way to rest and relax especially if you’re tired of getting notifications from group members who send text messages to the group all day.
Are you having this issue? This article explains what you can do if you are unable to unmute notifications for a group conversation on iPhone 18 Pro. Please try the steps below:
Restart
Before you do anything, try restarting your device. Restarting may fix your problem. If not, try the steps below in order. If this does not work, then follow the steps below to restart again:
- Go to Settings > Apps > Messages and then turn off iMessage.
- Now restart your device.
- On your iPhone, turn iMessage back on by going to Settings > Apps > Messages.
Update
Ensure that your iPhone 18 Pro has the latest version of iOS. You can update your device wirelessly by going to Settings > General > Software Update.
Unmute
Please ensure that you follow the steps below to unmute, instead of swiping left across the conversation you want to mute:
- Open the group chat.
- Tap the contact or icon at the top of the conversation.
- Turn off Hide Alerts.
Reset All Settings
If you are having this problem reset all settings on your iPhone 18 Pro. Resetting all settings will return settings to their defaults. This will not erase your content and data. But all your settings will be gone. These settings include, but not limited to, your network settings (Wi-Fi passwords, etc), Bluetooth pairings, Apple Pay cards, privacy settings, or screen settings (brightness, wallpaper, etc). Your media and content will stay. Your SMS texts or iMessages will not be deleted. Your email accounts will not be erased. Here is how:
- Tap Settings.
- Tap General.
- Tap Transfer or Reset iPhone.
- Tap Reset.
- Tap Reset All Settings and follow the onscreen instructions.
- When you finish the process, your iPhone will reboot.
