Getting iPad ready for a new owner takes a backup, signing out of iCloud, and erasing all content and settings, which also removes Activation Lock if you turned on Find My. Before you sell, give away, or trade in your iPad, be sure to perform the following tasks:
- Back up iPad. If you replace one iPad with another, you can use the setup assistant to restore the backup to your new iPad.
If you’re replacing your iPad with another one you have on hand, you can use extra free storage in iCloud to move your apps and data from one iPad to another. Go to Settings > General > Transfer or Reset iPad > Get Started, then follow the onscreen instructions.
- Sign out of iCloud, the iTunes Store, and the App Store. Go to Settings > [your name], scroll down, tap Sign Out, then follow the onscreen instructions.
- Erase all content and settings that contain personal information. If you previously turned on Find My for your iPad, Activation Lock is removed when you erase iPad, making it ready for a new owner.
