How to leave or remove a member from a Family Sharing group on iPad

You can leave or remove a member from a Family Sharing group on iPad, or stop Family Sharing as the organizer.

By Chris Smith - Senior Editor
1 Min Read

On iPad, in a Family Sharing group, the organizer can remove members or disband the group, and family members (other than teens with parental controls or children) can remove themselves. A removed member immediately loses access to shared features, and you can’t remove a child under 13, though you can move them to another group.

If you leave a group yourself, you stop sharing your purchases and subscriptions and immediately lose access to content others shared. The organizer can’t leave the group, though, so changing the organizer means disbanding it and having another adult create a new one.

Learn about types of Family Sharing members.

Remove a member from a family group

The organizer of a Family Sharing group can remove other members, and a removed family member immediately loses access to shared subscriptions and to content purchased by other members.

  1. Open Settings and then tap Family.
  2. Tap [member’s name], then tap Remove [member’s name] from Sharing Group.

There’s no way to remove a child under 13 from your Family Sharing group, but you can still move them to another group or delete their Apple Account.

If you transfer a child under 13 from a family group, that will affect the parental controls previously set, while removing a teen under 18 means losing your previously set parental controls.

Leave a Family Sharing group

As soon as you leave a Family Sharing group, you lose access to any content family members have shared, and you stop sharing your purchases and subscriptions with them.

Note: The organizer isn’t able to leave the Family Sharing group. To change the organizer, you must disband the group, then have another adult create a new one.

  1. Open Settings and then tap Family.
  2. Tap [your name] and tap Stop Using Family Sharing.

Stop Family Sharing

If the family organizer turns off Family Sharing, every family member is removed from the group at the same time. With Family Sharing off, they all immediately lose access to the shared content and subscriptions.

Note: If a child under 13 is in the Family Sharing group, the organizer must move them to another group or delete their Apple Account before disbanding the group. Transferring a child under 13 from a family group will affect the parental controls previously set, and removing a teen under 18 will remove your previously set parental controls.

  1. Open Settings and then tap Family.
  2. Tap [your name] and tap Stop Using Family Sharing.
Senior Editor
Follow:
Chris Smith is a senior editor at GeeksChalk based in Canada. He likes to think of himself as a jack of all trades (and a master of at least a few), though he mainly focuses on iPhones and Macs. Often covering both at the same time. When not surrounded by various Apple devices while putting them through their paces, Chris can be found streaming the latest movies or series, gaming on his PS5, or getting fresh air on a hike in the beautiful wilderness of British Columbia.
Leave a Comment