Will a Text Message Be Delivered if You are Blocked on iPhone?

By Moses Johnson - Editor
3 Min Read

When you send an iMessage to another iPhone user, you’ll see the delivery status right below it. If you haven’t been blocked, the status will read "Delivered." And if the person has enabled read receipts, it will later turn to "Read" once they open the message. However, when you send an iMessage to another iPhone user who blocked you, the iMessage won’t be delivered. From your end, the Message app will say "Sent as Text Message" underneath a green bubble, indicating it was sent as an SMS message. But was it really delivered?

A picture of the Message app on iPhone, with a sent SMS showing the “Message Not Delivered” delivery status underneath it.

What is message blocking on iPhone

Your iPhone allows you to block text messages from any number on your device in a few simple steps. You can block contacts already stored in your phone or unknown numbers not stored on your device.

When blocked, the owner of that phone number won’t be able to successfully text or call you, and they won’t be informed that they’ve been blocked.

Blocking a number on your iPhone can help ward off unsolicited calls and texts, especially from scammers.

Here’s how to block messages on your iPhone:

  1. Open the Messages app on your iPhone.
  2. Open the text message from the number or contact you wish you block.
  3. Tap the number or contact at the top of the message, then click the small info button.
  4. Tap Block this Caller.
  5. From the pop-up that appears, tap Block Contact again to confirm.

If you want to unblock them, you will need to follow the same steps but tap Unblock this Caller. Alternatively, follow the steps below:

  1. Open the Settings app from your iPhone’s home screen, then tap Messages.
  2. Tap Blocked Contacts under the SMS/MMS section.
  3. You can remove a contact or number from the blocked list by swiping right, then tapping Unblock.

Blocked numbers will still be able to text you on their end, but you won’t receive their messages.

Will your messages be delivered if you are blocked on iPhone?

So the question is whether the recipient who blocked you in Messages on the iPhone would receive your iMessages or SMS messages. The answer is no, not via the Messages app. Even if you get a notification saying “Sent as Text Message,” your texts go nowhere. Your messages will still look like they’ve been sent, but the recipient won’t receive any of them, and they can’t respond.

Finding out if you’ve been blocked on an iPhone, for that matter) isn’t a clean cut-and-dried process. There’s no definitive way to know if you’ve been blocked aside from the blocker telling you outright.

But to get a sense of whether you’re blocked, you could try several different methods and cross-reference your results.

One way to get a sense of whether or not you’ve been blocked is to text the person. You can tell the difference between a regular SMS and an iMessage by looking at the message bubble – a green bubble means it’s an SMS, while a blue bubble means it’s an iMessage.

iMessages are sent over the internet, and SMS messages are sent through your carrier. If you’re used to seeing blue iMessage text bubbles but they are suddenly green, it can be an indication you’ve been blocked – but that’s just one possibility, and isn’t necessarily the most likely.

If you try to call someone and it goes right to voicemail, you might have been blocked. But on the other hand, the person’s phone might be turned off or have a drained battery, or they might simply be in Airplane Mode or Focus mode.

Will you get messages from the person who blocked you?

The blocker, however, can still send you messages, assuming you did not block them.

How to text or call someone who blocked your number

As I stated above, when someone has blocked your number, you can’t call, text, or FaceTime that number. However, there are still ways to reach them if you really need to contact the person who blocked your number. You may want to do this if you think that your number was blocked accidentally or if there is something very important. And, lastly, before proceeding, think carefully if you deserved the blocking. If you deserve it, do not try any of the steps below.

Try a different number

You may be able to call or text the person on a different number, to see if you get any response. If you’re still unable to reach them, there may be a technical issue with the receiver’s phone.

Use other messaging apps

You can text the person through social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Whatsapp. Social media apps are not affected by the iOS blocking. However, if the person is set on blocking you, they will most likely block you in other places as well.

If by any luck they haven’t blocked you there as well, they will see your message when they’re back online, but they may not respond. In that case, make the message you send them count, but be polite if you want to get to the bottom of why they blocked your texts and calls.

Turn off Caller ID

Disable caller ID in your phone’s settings, then try calling the person.

On iPhone, you can disable caller ID (assuming your carrier allows it) by opening your phone’s settings and navigating to Settings > Phone > Show My Caller ID and disabling it.

TAGGED:
Share This Article
By Moses Johnson Editor
Follow:
Moses Johnson is the Editorial Director of GeeksChalk.com, who has a keen eye for news, rumors, and all the unusual stuff around Apple products. Moses is commonly referred to online as The Professor, with decades of experience in tech under his belt.
Leave a comment